A forum for reverse engineering, OS internals and malware analysis 

Forum for discussion about kernel-mode development.
 #8636  by _Lynn
 Mon Sep 19, 2011 3:38 pm
Hi there, I am a little new to kernel mode and to further my learning I would like to locate and read the SSDT. I have no interest in writing to it, just reading and parsing the function pointers. Mostly to locate functions that are not exported by ntoskrnl, such as ZwReadVirtualMemory.

First off, I am using Windows 7 x64. I noticed the KeServiceDescriptor table is not exported by my ntoskrnl build. I have read in a few places that I can obtain the linear address to this structure within the KTHREAD struct (TEB) which is defined here http://www.nirsoft.net/kernel_struct/vista/KTHREAD.html as PVOID ServiceTable.

Is that true? or is there another way I need to locate this structure?

#8641  by Vrtule
 Mon Sep 19, 2011 6:54 pm
Hello,

64bit versions of Windows do not store pointer to SSDT in ETHREAD structures. AFAIK the only way how to find the table is to disassemble the main kernel image (ntoskrnl.exe), locate references to the KeServiceDescriptorTableShadow symbol and perform pattern-matching.

Additionally, SSDT does not store direct function pointers on x64. They're offsets relative to the start of nt!KiServiceTable array (this is the first "pointer" table stored in SSDT). So, if you want to compute address of a function with index X, you must do something like this:
Code: Select all
Address = &KiServiceTable + (LONG32)KiServiceTable[X] / 16
(the offset also caches argument count in its four lowest bits).
 #8642  by _Lynn
 Mon Sep 19, 2011 8:32 pm
Alright thanks, ill look into that. Also, what is a good way to get the kernel base address? Currently I am just playing in a virtual machine, and I use EnumDeviceDrivers from user mode. What is a feasible method I can use from my driver?

Thanks again
 #8645  by _Lynn
 Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:39 am