A forum for reverse engineering, OS internals and malware analysis 

Forum for discussion about kernel-mode development.
 #5824  by abhijit_mohanta
 Wed Apr 06, 2011 5:46 am
I am new to device driver programming.I was going through the following link http://www.codeproject.com/KB/system/hide-driver.aspx NtQueryDirectoryfile in the diagram in the section named "NT Function Call Scheme and Hook" returns an process list.
Can anybody tell me how does the list transferred to user mode.
Please give me a little detailed description like how irp wud be filled with data etc.
 #5828  by EP_X0FF
 Wed Apr 06, 2011 10:47 am
Hello,
abhijit_mohanta wrote:I am new to device driver programming.I was going through the following link http://www.codeproject.com/KB/system/hide-driver.aspx NtQueryDirectoryfile in the diagram in the section named "NT Function Call Scheme and Hook" returns an process list.
Can anybody tell me how does the list transferred to user mode.
Please give me a little detailed description like how irp wud be filled with data etc.
NtQueryDirectoryFile does not operate with processes it operate with files/directories. When this service called you supply address of user mode data buffer to where this service must store returned data.

NtQueryDirectoryFile (ntdll.dll) ->KiFastSystemCall(ntdll.dll)->sysenter->_KiSystemService(ntoskrnl.exe)->NtQueryDirectoryFile(ntoskrnl.exe)->FSD request IRP_MJ_DIRECTORY_CONTROL (the address of buffer you supply set as irp->UserBuffer field, irp itself allocates by kernel service via IoAllocateIrp)

Describe your question more clearly.
 #5831  by abhijit_mohanta
 Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:14 am
ya this is somewhat near to what i wanted to know.
1)Is the buffer created created in user mode then forwarded to kernel mode?
or is it created in kernel mode and pointer returned to user mode
2)Is there any IRP completion routine called and the buffer is filled filled by data